null null
Breakers star Cedric Jackson wins NBL Most Valuable Player
Monday, March 25, 2013, 08:49:40 AM

New Zealand Breakers star Cedric Jackson has cemented his standing as a leader of the League, taking out the National Basketball League’s Andrew Gaze Trophy for Most Valuable Player at the 2013 iiNet Basketball Australia MVP.

Jackson’s star shone the brightest as the NBL’s best were honoured, with a host of big names among the various award winners.

In his second season with the Breakers, Jackson quickly established himself as the premier guard in the competition, leading the league in assists (7.2 per game) and steals (2.8) along with being a top 10 in points (15.6).

Jackson finished narrowly ahead of Sydney Kings star Ben Madgen, who was another big winner tonight, taking out the NBL Most Improved award.

Madgen was also named in the All-NBL First Team, joined by Jackson, Melbourne Tigers import Seth Scott and Perth Wildcats duo Kevin Lisch and Matthew Knight.

Wildcats teammate Damian Martin solidified his reputation as the leading stopper in the league, taking out his third consecutive NBL Defensive Player of the Year award.

Andrej Lemanis joined fellow Breakers’ star Cedric Jackson among the award winners, claiming his second Lindsay Gaze Trophy for NBL Coach of the Year.

Cairns Taipans young gun Cameron Gliddon marked a memorable debut season, winning the NBL Rookie of the Year award, while Wollongong Hawks’ crowd-thriller Adris ‘2Hard 2Guard’ Deleon was named NBL Best Sixth Man.

Referee Michael Aylen claimed his fourth consecutive NBL Referee of the Year honour, making him a six-time winner of the award.

2012/13 NBL Award Winners
Andrew Gaze Trophy for MVP: Cedric Jackson (New Zealand)
Rookie of the Year: Cameron Gliddon (Cairns)
Lindsay Gaze Trophy for Coach of the Year: Andrej Lemanis (New Zealand)
Most Improved Player: Ben Madgen (Sydney)
Defensive Player of the Year: Damian Martin (Perth)
Best Sixth Man: Adris Deleon (Wollongong)
Referee of the Year: Michael Aylen

All-NBL First Team
Cedric Jackson (New Zealand)
Kevin Lisch (Perth)
Ben Madgen (Sydney)
Matthew Knight (Perth)
Seth Scott (Melbourne)

All-NBL Second Team
Gary Ervin (Townsville)
Jonny Flynn (Melbourne)
Damian Martin (Perth)
Mika Vukona (New Zealand)
Daniel Johnson (Adelaide)

All-NBL Third Team
Thomas Abercrombie (New Zealand)
Jamar Wilson (Cairns)
Adam Gibson (Adelaide)
Shawn Redhage (Perth)
Ian Crosswhite (Sydney)