null null
Finalists revealed for major NBL Awards
Wednesday, March 20, 2013, 07:12:55 AM

Some of the game’s biggest names are in line for honours at basketball’s night of nights – with the list of finalists announced for the 2013 National Basketball League awards to be presented at the iiNet Basketball Australia MVP Dinner this Sunday.

The shortlist of contenders for the Coach of the Year (Lindsay Gaze Trophy), Most Improved Player, Best Sixth Man, Rookie of the Year and Best Defensive Player awards contain some of the emerging and establish stars of the NBL.

Other NBL awards to be announced on Sunday night include the major prize of the Andrew Gaze Trophy for the NBL’s Most Valuable Player, as well as the All-NBL First, Second and Third Team and Referee of the Year.

The iiNet Basketball Australia MVP Dinner brings together the cream of the NBL and WNBL to celebrate another memorable season of action on the hardwood.

The black tie gala event – held at the Palladium Room at Crown Casino on Sunday 24 March – will be streaming LIVE thanks to iiNet at

Tickets for iiNet Basketball Australia MVP are on sale until Wednesday, so visit to book your seat.

Voting for the award winners was conducted after all nominations were received, with the Head Coach, one Assistant Coach and one Captain from each team having the chance to cast 3-2-1 votes for their preferred choices. 

Voters were not allowed to vote for players or coaches from their own team in the final balloting process. The player or coach who receives the highest vote total when all ballots are counted will be declared the winner.

2013 NBL Awards Finalists 

Finalists listed in alphabetical order by surname

Coach of the Year – Lindsay Gaze Trophy

Chris Anstey (Melbourne)

Rob Beveridge (Perth)

Shane Heal (Sydney)

Andrej Lemanis (New Zealand)

Gordie McLeod (Wollongong)

Rookie of the Year

Tom Daly (Adelaide)

Cameron Gliddon (Cairns)

Auryn Macmillan (Wollongong)

Clint Steindl (Cairns)

Nate Tomlinson (Melbourne)

Best Sixth Man

Dillon Boucher (New Zealand)

Adris Deleon (Wollongong)

Will Hudson (New Zealand)

Anthony Petrie (Adelaide)

Jesse Wagstaff (Perth)

Defensive Player of the Year

Adam Gibson (Adelaide)

Aaron Grabau (Cairns)

Cedric Jackson (New Zealand)

Damian Martin (Perth)

Mika Vukona (New Zealand)

Most Improved

Todd Blanchfield (Townsville)

Chris Goulding (Melbourne)

Greg Hire (Perth)

Ben Madgen (Sydney)

Rhys Martin (Wollongong)