null null
Jackson returns to the top and Beveridge wins NBL monthly awards
Monday, March 04, 2013, 12:01:22 PM

Related Articles

The New Zealand Breakers and Perth Wildcats tightened their stranglehold on the top two spots on the NBL ladder, with Cedric Jackson and Rob Beveridge taking out the Player of the Month and Coach of the Month for February in the iiNet NBL Championship.

Having taken out the Player of the Month for November, Jackson earned his second NBL monthly award courtesy of averaging 19 points, 7.3 rebounds, 5.7 assists and 2.3 steals as the Breakers went 3-0 for February.

The diminutive guard topped the voting for February ahead of Wollongong star Adris Deleon, Wildcats veteran Shawn Redhage and Melbourne’s marquee man Jonny Flynn.

For Perth boss Beveridge, the Coach of the Month accolade is his first of the season and comes after a busy but successful February for the Wildcats, finishing with a 6-1 record.

January's Winner Andrej Lemanis enjoyed another brilliant month, leading the Breakers to a 3-0 record – while Chris Anstey guided Melbourne to a 3-2 February.

The NBL’s Player and Coach of the Month for February took into account Rounds 17 through 20 of the iiNet NBL Championship, inclusive. All NBL Head Coaches and accredited media were eligible to vote for the awards.

Full voting results are displayed below.

Player of the Month – February

Cedric Jackson (NZ)                        28
Adris Deleon (Wollongong)              23
Shawn Redhage (Perth)                  12
Jonny Flynn (Melbourne)                 10
Damian Martin (Perth)                      6
Gary Ervin (Townsville)                    4
Oscar Forman (Wollongong)            3
Daniel Johnson (Adelaide)               2
Matthew Knight (Perth)                     2
Jamar Wilson (Cairns)                      2
Peter Crawford (Townsville)             1
Kevin Lisch (Perth)                           1
Greg Hire (Perth)                              1

Coach of the Month – February

Rob Beveridge (Perth)                     45
Andrej Lemanis (NZ)                        36
Chris Anstey (Melbourne)                20
Paul Woolpert (Townsville)              1