null null
Beal Wins NBL Grand Final MVP Medal
Monday, April 14, 2014, 03:58:34 PM

The National Basketball League would like to congratulate Perth Wildcats guard Jermaine Beal on winning the Larry Sengstock Medal, awarded to the Grand Final MVP.

The American import was a clear winner of the Medal, voted on by a four-member panel appointed by the NBL. The panel consisted of News Ltd. basketball journalist Boti Nagy, NBL Referees Manager Mal Cooper, Australian Basketball Hall of Famer and TEN Commentator Steve Carfino and NBL General Manager of Operations Bret Mactavish.

“I feel good. It really hasn’t hit me yet,” Beal said, as he capped his first season in the NBL.

“I just want to thank all my teammates. Thank Coach. Thank Nick. Thank everybody for taking a chance on me.”

Beal was the only player in the NBL Grand Final series to poll votes in all three games. He landed 19 points in each of the first two games to lead the votes going into the decider in Perth yesterday. The result was sealed when he polled five votes in the Wildcats’ 34-point win.

Beal averaged 17.6 points per game during the Grand Final series. He shot 11 three’s at an efficient 48%. He was the equal top-scorer with 53 points, level with his Wildcats teammate James Ennis.

Ennis led the Grand Final MVP voting after Game 1. He polled a perfect 12 votes for his 30-point performance.

Gary Ervin almost matched that in Adelaide’s five-point win in Game 2. He polled 11 votes following his 23-point haul, which included five assists and five rebounds. Interestingly, all four members of the voting panel handed their votes to the same three players in Game 2.

Beal was one of those and he also featured in the votes in Game 3. Shawn Redhage was a unanimous choice as best on court, polling nine votes for his 16-points.

Here’s how the votes were awarded:

Game 1

Votes Mal Cooper Boti Nagy Bret Mactavish Steve Carfino
3 James Ennis James Ennis James Ennis James Ennis
2 Anthony Petrie Jermaine Beal Jermaine Beal Jermaine Beal
1 Jermaine Beal Daniel Johnson Daniel Johnson Brendan Teys

Game 2

Votes Mal Cooper Boti Nagy Bret Mactavish Steve Carfino
3 Gary Ervin Adam Gibson Gary Ervin Gary Ervin
2 Jermaine Beal Gary Ervin Adam Gibson Jermaine Beal
1 Adam Gibson Jermaine Beal Jermaine Beal Adam Gibson

Game 3

Votes Mal Cooper Boti Nagy Bret Mactavish Steve Carfino
3 Damian Martin Shawn Redhage Jermaine Beal Shawn Redhage
2 Jermaine Beal Damian Martin Shawn Redhage Greg Hire
1 Shawn Redhage Anthony Petrie Anthony Petrie Damian Martin

The final leaderboard was:

18 - Jermaine Beal

12 - James Ennis

11 - Gary Ervin

9 - Shawn Redhage

7 - Adam Gibson

6 – Damian Martin

4 – Anthony Petrie

2 – Daniel Johnson

2 – Greg Hire

1 – Brendan Teys