null null
‘2Hard 2Guard’ too good; wins third NBL weekly award
Tuesday, March 05, 2013, 10:59:19 AM

Related Articles

Adris ‘2Hard 2Guard’ Deleon produced another stunning performance to lift the Wollongong Hawks to victory over the Melbourne Tigers last weekend, earning the NBL Player of the Week for the third time for Round 21 of the iiNet NBL Championship.

The free-scoring guard has continued his red-hot run of form that saw him just narrowly miss out on the NBL Player of the Month award for February –  dropping a mouth-watering 31 points on the Tigers in the gutsy 88-82 road win.

Deleon was unstoppable, hitting 7-of-13 from the field, including 5-of-8 from beyond the arc and 12-of-14 free throws to add to his eight assists and seven rebounds.

The NBL’s leading scorer Ben Madgen continued recent scoring glut, putting up 33 points on 13-of-22 shooting, eight rebounds, five assists and three steals in guiding the Sydney Kings to a drought-breaking 83-67 win over Townsville.

In the upset of the round, the Cairns Taipans knocked off Perth, with Cameron Gliddon putting up 26 points (8-of-13FG), six rebounds and five steals.

Perth’s Matthew Knight, Sydney big man Darnell Lazare, Hawks forward Larry Davidson and Crocs sharp-shooter Peter Crawford were also among the standouts in Round 21.

NBL Player of the Week Winners 2012/13

Round 1 – Matthew Knight (Perth Wildcats)
Round 2 – Corin Henry (Sydney Kings)
Round 3 – Mika Vukona (New Zealand Breakers)
Round 4 – Ben Madgen (Sydney Kings)
Round 5 – Adris Deleon (Wollongong Hawks)
Round 6 – Cedric Jackson (New Zealand Breakers)
Round 7 – Daniel Johnson (Adelaide)
Round 8 – Kevin Lisch (Perth Wildcats)
Round 9 – Cedric Jackson (New Zealand Breakers)
Round 10 – Corin Henry (Sydney Kings)
Round 11 – Cedric Jackson (New Zealand Breakers)
Round 12 – Lucas Walker (Melbourne Tigers)
Round 13 – Gary Ervin (Townsville Crocodiles)
Round 14 – Daniel Johnson (Adelaide 36ers)
Round 15 – Ian Crosswhite (Sydney Kings)
Round 16 – Daryl Corletto (New Zealand Breakers)
Round 17 – Cedric Jackson (New Zealand Breakers)
Round 18 – Peter Crawford (Townsville Crocodiles)
Round 19 – Adris Deleon (Wollongong Hawks)
Round 20 – Shawn Redhage (Perth Wildcats)
Round 21 – Adris Deleon (Wollongong Hawks)