MY NBL Experience

Fill in the fields below to get your personalised news, videos, and features exclusively on

Featured News / February 13th, 2017

Coach of the Year: Joey Wright

The Adelaide 36ers’ Joey Wright is the recipient of the Lindsay Gaze Trophy as the 2016-17 NBL Coach of the Year, announced at the NBL MVP Awards Night at Peninsula in Docklands, Melbourne.

Wright becomes just the second 36ers coach to win the Award, joining Ken Cole who was honoured in 1986.

He also becomes only the third coach to win the award three times, joining Brian Goorjian (6) and Lindsay Gaze (3). Wright previously received Coach of the Year honours in 2004 and 2007 while leading the Brisbane Bullets.

Each NBL club’s Head Coach, one Assistant Coach and the Team Captain voted on the Coach of the Year Award in a 3-2-1 format (3 votes being indicative of the most deserving). All NBL Head Coaches were eligible to receive the Award but voters were not allowed to vote for the coach of their own team.

Wright, in his fourth season as Adelaide head coach, received a total of 49 votes to win the Award.

Rounding out the top three in the voting were the Illawarra Hawks’ Rob Beveridge (35 votes) and Cairns Taipans’ Aaron Fearne (18 votes).

Having assembled one of the youngest teams in NBL history, Wright led Adelaide to a first place finish with a 17-11 record. After opening the season 3-6, the 36ers won 14 of their next 15 games, going undefeated throughout the month of December.

The 36ers posted the league’s highest scoring average (92.2 point per game) in 2016-17 and also led the NBL in offensive rating (112.9 points per 100 possessions), field goal percentage (46.7 percent) and rebounds (38.3 total rebounds per game).

The Coach of the Year Award is named after legendary NBL coach and Basketball Hall of Famer Lindsay Gaze, who guided the Melbourne Tigers to two NBL Championships over a long and celebrated career.

With home court advantage throughout the Swisse NBL Finals, Wright has Adelaide poised for an assault on the 2017 NBL Championship. The 36ers’ best-of-three semi-final series against the Illawarra Hawks tips off at 7:30pm (AEDT) on Thursday 16 February at Titanium Security Arena in Adelaide.

All-Time NBL Coach of the Year Award

1979 – Not Awarded

1980 – Barry Barnes, Nunawading Spectres

1981 – Bob Turner, Newcastle Falcons

1982 – Cal Bruton, Geelong Supercats

1983 – Robbie Cadee, Bankstown Bruins

1984 – Brian Kerle, Brisbane Bullets

1985 – Bob Turner, Canberra Cannons

1986 – Ken Cole, Adelaide 36ers

1987 – David Lindstrom, Illawarra Hawks

1988 – Bruce Palmer, North Melbourne Giants

1989 – Lindsay Gaze, Melbourne Tigers

1990 – Brian Kerle, Brisbane Bullets

1991 – Murray Arnold, Perth Wildcats

1992 – Brian Goorjian, South East Melbourne Magic

1993 – Alan Black, Illawarra Hawks

1994 – Brett Brown, North Melbourne Giants

1995 – Alan Black, Illawarra Hawks & Tom Wiseman, Newcastle Falcons

1996 – Brett Flanigan, Canberra Cannons

1997 – Lindsay Gaze, Melbourne Tigers & Brian Goorjian, South East Melbourne Magic

1998 – Brian Goorjian, South East Melbourne Magic

1999 – Lindsay Gaze, Melbourne Tigers & Brendan Joyce, Wollongong Hawks

2000 – Ian Stacker, Townsville Crocodiles

2001 – Brendan Joyce, Wollongong Hawks

2002 – Brian Goorjian, Victoria Titans

2003 – Ian Stacker, Townsville Crocodiles

2004 – Joey Wright, Brisbane Bullets

2005 – Adrian Hurley, Hunter Pirates

2006 – Alan Westover, Melbourne Tigers

2007 – Joey Wright, Brisbane Bullets

2008 – Brian Goorjian, Sydney Kings

2009 – Brian Goorjian, South Dragons

2010 – Gordie McLeod, Wollongong Hawks

2011 – Trevor Gleeson, Townsville Crocodiles

2012 – Andrej Lemanis, New Zealand Breakers

2013 – Andrej Lemanis, New Zealand Breakers

2014 – Gordie McLeod, Wollongong Hawks

2015 – Aaron Fearne, Cairns Taipans

2016 – Shawn Dennis, Townsville Crocodiles

2017 – Joey Wright, Adelaide 36ers